Groundings with BAME Councillors

A series of online sessions to share information and good practice, started on Saturday, 27th March 2021 with a practice-oriented session aimed at supporting BAME Councillors dealing with constituent’s concerns about the Covid-19 pandemic and vaccination programme and the additional risks that Covid-19 continues to pose to frontline BAME Council staff.

View the first session:

Keynote speakers:
Mike Franklin and Jenni Douglas-Todd, Joint Director of Equality and Inclusion for NHS England and NHS Improvement.

Mike Franklin is Joint Director of Equality and Inclusion for NHS England and NHS Improvement.

Mike is also a Non-Executive Director on the Board of Directors at South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust, where he chairs the Equalities and Workforce Committee, champions Freedom to Speak Up and is a member of the Trust’s Mental Health Law Committee.

He was previously a Non-Executive Director at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust.

Mike is a former commissioner with the Independent Police Complaints Commission. He was also Her Majesty’s Assistant Inspector of Constabulary and has acted as a specialist assistant inspector for race and diversity across 43 police forces in England and Wales.

His previous experience includes being Chair of the Community Police Consultative Group for Lambeth, as well as serving on the TUC Race Relations Committee.

Jenni Douglas-Todd is Joint Director of Equality and Inclusion for NHS England & Improvement, which has the fifth largest workforce globally. Additionally, Jenni is Independent Chair for Dorset Integrated Care System and shortly to step down as Deputy Chair of University Hospitals Southampton.

For the past four years Jenni has held a portfolio alongside doing consultancy work and is the Equality & diversity lead in all her portfolio roles.

Previously Jenni was Chief Executive Officer to the Hampshire Police & Crime Commissioner proceeded by undertaking that role to the Hampshire Police Authority. Jenni is a qualified Probation Officer and subsequently held a number of senior public sector roles including as a civil servant in the Home Office and with the Independent Police Complaints Commission.

The online session was attended by the following BAME Councillors:
Cllr Obajimi Adefiranye (Lewisham) Cllr Hanif Khan (Hounslow Cllr Shade Adoh (Buckinghamshire) Cllr Amanda Pinnock (Kirklees) Cllr Ibrahim Dogus (Lambeth) Cllr Muhammad Afzal (Birmingham) Cllr Sunny Lambe (Southwark) Cllr Leslie Ayoola (Nottingham) Cllr Mohammed Altaf-Khan (Oxford) Cllr Olu Babatola (Greenwich) Cllr Brenda Dacres (Lewisham) Cllr Arif Hussain (Buckinghamshire) Cllr Unsa Chaudri (Hounslow) Cllr Sonia Winifred (Lambeth) Cllr Waseem Zaffar (Birmingham Cllr Olurotimi Ogunbadewa (Lewisham) Cllr Majid Hussain (Buckinghamshire) Cllr Peter Babudu (Southwark) Cllr Ziaul Islam (Birmingham) Cllr Ranjit Gill (Hounslow) Cllr Jamila Azad (Oxford Cllr Andre Bourne (Lewisham) Cllr Saeed Saddique (Buckinghamshire) Cllr Marianna Masters (Lambeth) Cllr Mohammed Idrees (Birmingham) Cllr Colin Elliott (Lewisham) Cllr Waheed Raja (Buckinghamshire) Cllr Nanda Manley-Browne (Lambeth) Cllr Tauseef Anwar (Lewisham) Cllr Afzaal Kiani (Hounslow) Cllr Sakina Sheikh (Lewisham) Cllr Komal Chaudri (Hounslow) Cllr Patsy Cummings (Croydon) Plus, Ex-Cllr Omer Koukou-Tchri (Epsom & Ewell) Ex-Cllr Aubyn Graham (Southwark)